Our partner cities

Braunfels maintains partnership-based relationships
  1. France Bagnols-sur-Cèze in France,
  2. Spain Carcaixent in Spain,
  3. Belgium Eeklo in Belgium,
  4. Italy Feltre in Italy,
  5. Hungary Kiskunfélegyháza in Hungary,
  6. United States New Braunfels in Texas, United States,
  7. United Kingdom Newbury (Berkshire), United Kingdom,
  8. Austria Rohrmoos-Untertal in Austria, since 1961.

Since 1959 Braunfels has been associated with Bagnols-sur-Cèze . Bagnols-sur-Cèze is a French city with 18,172 inhabitants (as at 1 January 2014) in the Gard department in the region of Occitania. The town is the main town of the canton of Bagnols-sur-Cèze of the same name and belongs to the Arrondissement Nîmes.

Since 1961 a close partnership has existed with the former municipality Rohrmoos-Untertal. Rohrmoos stretches from about 750 meters above sea level (Ennsufer west of Schladming) to 2,862 meters. The highest point is the peak of Hochgolling. Rohrmoos covers an area of ​​146.34 km² and is thus larger than the Styrian provincial capital Graz (128 km²).
The main settlement area is the north-eastern slope of the Hochwurzen with numerous courtyards, guest houses and hotels. There is also the Fastenberg on the northwest slope of the Planai and the two narrow but long stretched Tauern valleys Obertal and Untertal. The two streams from these valleys are united in the north of the village to the valley stream, which passes through a narrow ravine steeply to Schladming.
In the mountains on the former southern boundary (Zandwand, Vetternspitze) was mining from the early Middle Ages to the 19th century mining, mainly silver, nickel and zinc. Parts of these plants are today a museum and a showcase.
At the end of the valley, the Riesach falls, which are regarded as the highest waterfalls in Styria. Numerous mountain lakes, including the Giglachsen, the Duisitzkarsee and the Riesachsee, offer popular hiking destinations.

Shortly thereafter the friendship with New Braunfels in Texas arose. New Braunfels is a German city based in Texas, United States. In 2010, the city population amounted to 57,740 persons, spread over 76.1 km². The city is the administrative seat of Comal County. The acting mayor is Bruce Boyer. The partner city New Braunfels in Texas (United States) was founded by emigrants from Braunfels. The small town between Austin, TX and San Antonio, TX is today a tourist attraction, which refers to its German roots and in which to today German-speaking shops and restaurants are to be found. A large amusement and aquapark ("Schlitterbahn"), the relevant gastronomy ("Schnitzelhaus", "Omas Haus" ...) as well as a "genuine Oktoberfest" were already helped by visitors from Germany.

Braunfels with Feltreis equally spared. Feltre is a town of 20,646 inhabitants (as of 31 December 2016) in the Italian province of Belluno, region of Veneto. The city is located at an altitude of 325 m slm at a tributary of the Piave at the foothills of the Dolomites. The municipality covers an area of ​​approximately 100 km², its population density is 203 inhabitants / km². The city is a regional center of the metal industry and the seat of the private university IULM, headed by Carlo Bo (Libera Università di Lingue e Comunicazione), headquartered in Milan.

Since 1963, Braunfels has been closely associated with Newbury (Berkshire) . Newbury is a small town in the west of the English county of Berkshire in the United Kingdom. It is part of the West Berkshire district, as is Hungerford. The next major city in the county is Reading.
Newbury has over 50,000 inhabitants, with Thatcham.

Eeklo is a Belgian city in the Flanders region. It is located in the province of East Flanders and is the central city in Meetjesland. It is the administrative seat of the Belgian district of the same name and another partner city of Braunfels.

Also in Spain we found a partner with Carcaixent (Carcagente, valencian Carcaixent). This accommodation is located in the town of Valencia (Valencia in Spain).

Recently, Braunfels maintains a partnership with Kiskunfélegyháza [kiʃkunfelɛɟhazɒ] (German: Feulegaß later Felegyhaza, a town in the Bács-Kiskun county in the southeast of Hungary, about 120 km southeast of Budapest, 25 km southeast of the county seat and the eighth largest city of the country, Kecskemét, and 60 km northwest of the fourth largest city of Hungary, Szeged, with 30,000 inhabitants, Kiskunfélegyháza is the third largest city in the county.

The cities are partly also partnerships among themselves.

On our homepage you will find some pictures. These pictures lead you through a link to the respective partner cities, because each one of you is worth a trip.




Share by:

Partnerstädte/ Netzwerkprojekte

Partnerstädte & Netzwerkprojekte  
Braunfels unterhält partnerschaftliche Beziehungen zu
  1. Frankreich Bagnols-sur-Cèze in Frankreich,
  2. Spanien Carcaixent in Spanien,
  3. Belgien Eeklo in Belgien,
  4. Italien Feltre in Italien,
  5. Ungarn Kiskunfélegyháza in Ungarn,
  6. Vereinigte Staaten New Braunfels in Texas, Vereinigte Staaten,
  7. Vereinigtes Königreich Newbury (Berkshire), Großbritannien,
  8. Österreich Rohrmoos-Untertal in Österreich, seit 1961.

Seit dem Jahr 1959 ist Braunfels mit Bagnols-sur-Cèze verbunden. Bagnols-sur-Cèze ist eine französische Stadt mit 18.172 Einwohnern (Stand 1. Januar 2014) im Département Gard in der Region Okzitanien. Die Stadt ist Hauptort des gleichnamigen Kantons Bagnols-sur-Cèze und gehört zum Arrondissement Nîmes.

Seit 1961 besteht eine enge Partnerschaft mit der ehemaligen Gemeinde Rohrmoos-Untertal. Rohrmoos erstreckt sich von ca. 750 Meter Seehöhe (Ennsufer westlich von Schladming) bis auf 2.862 Meter. Der höchste Punkt ist der Gipfel des Hochgolling. Rohrmoos umfasst eine Fläche von 146,34 km² und ist damit größer als die steirische Landeshauptstadt Graz (128 km²).
Hauptsiedlungsgebiet ist der nordöstliche Abhang der Hochwurzen mit zahlreichen Höfen, Gasthäusern und Hotels. Dazu kommt der Fastenberg am Nordwest-Abhang der Planai und die beiden engen, aber langgestreckten Tauerntäler Obertal und Untertal. Die beiden Bäche aus diesen Tälern vereinigen sich im Norden der Gemeinde zum Talbach, der durch eine enge Schlucht steil nach Schladming durchbricht.
In den Bergen an der ehemaligen südlichen Gemeindegrenze (Zinkwand, Vetternspitze) wurde vom Frühmittelalter bis ins 19. Jahrhundert Bergbau betrieben, vor allem Silber, Nickel und Zink. Teile dieser Anlagen sind heute als Museum und Schaubergwerk eingerichtet.
Am Talende des Untertals liegen die Riesachfälle, die als die höchsten Wasserfälle der Steiermark gelten. Zahlreiche Bergseen, darunter die Giglachseen, der Duisitzkarsee und der Riesachsee, bieten beliebte Wanderziele.

Kurz darauf entstand die Freundschaft mit New Braunfels in Texas. New Braunfels (deutsch Neu Braunfels) ist eine von deutschen Einwanderern begründete Stadt in Texas, Vereinigte Staaten. Im Jahre 2010 betrug die Stadtbevölkerung 57.740 Personen, verteilt auf 76,1 km². Die Stadt ist Verwaltungssitz des Comal County. Der amtierende Bürgermeister ist Bruce Boyer. Die Partnerstadt New Braunfels in Texas (Vereinigte Staaten) wurde von Auswanderern aus Braunfels gegründet. Die Kleinstadt zwischen Austin, TX und San Antonio, TX ist heute eine Touristenattraktion, die sich auf ihre deutschen Wurzeln beruft und in der bis heute deutschsprachige Geschäfte und Restaurants anzutreffen sind. Ein großer Vergnügungs- und Aquapark („Schlitterbahn“), die einschlägige Gastronomie („Schnitzelhaus“, „Omas Haus“ …) sowie ein „genuine Oktoberfest“ sollen bei Besuchern aus Deutschland auch schon einmal gegen Heimweh geholfen haben.

Ebenso verpartnert ist Braunfels mit Feltre. Feltre (deutsch veraltet „Felters“) ist eine Stadt mit 20.646 Einwohnern (Stand: 31. Dezember 2016) in der italienischen Provinz Belluno, Region Venetien. Die Stadt liegt auf einer Höhe von 325 m s.l.m. an einem Nebenfluss des Piave an den Ausläufern der Dolomiten. Die Gemeinde umfasst eine Fläche von ca. 100 km², ihre Einwohnerdichte beträgt 203 Einwohner/km². Die Stadt ist ein regionales Zentrum der Metallindustrie und Außensitz der von Carlo Bo mitgegründeten privaten Universität IULM (Libera Università di Lingue e Comunicazione; Hauptsitz: Mailand).

Seit 1963 ist Braunfels eng mit Newbury (Berkshire) verpartnert. Newbury ist eine Kleinstadt im Westen des englischen Countys Berkshire im Vereinigten Königreich und gehört ebenso wie Hungerford zum Bezirk West Berkshire. Die nächste größere Stadt im County ist Reading.
Newbury hat mit dem eingemeindeten Thatcham über 50.000 Einwohner.

Eeklo ist eine belgische Stadt in der Region Flandern. Sie liegt in der Provinz Ostflandern und ist die zentrale Stadt im Meetjesland. Sie ist Verwaltungssitz des gleichnamigen belgischen Arrondissements und eine weitere Partnerstadt von Braunfels.

Auch in Spanien haben wir mit Carcaixent (Carcagente, valencianisch Carcaixent) einen Partnerort gefunden. Sie liegt in der Region Valencia in Spanien.

Zuletzt unterhält Braunfels eine Partnerschaft mit Kiskunfélegyháza [ˈkiʃkunˈfelɛɟˈhazɒ] (deutsch: Feulegaß später Felegyhaza. Dies ist eine Stadt im Komitat Bács-Kiskun im Südosten Ungarns. Die Stadt ist etwa 120 km südöstlich der Hauptstadt Budapest, 25  km südöstlich des Komitatssitzes und der achtgrößten Stadt des Landes, Kecskemét, und 60 km nordwestlich der viertgrößten Stadt von Ungarn, Szeged, gelegen. Mit 30.000 Einwohnern ist Kiskunfélegyháza die drittgrößte Stadt des Komitates.

Die Städte pflegen teilweise auch inzwischen Partnerschaften untereinander.

Auf unserer Startseite finden Sie einige Bilder. Diese Bilder führen Sie per Verlinkung auf eine Reise in die jeweiligen Partnerstädte, denn jede Einzelne von Ihnen ist eine Reise wert.




Share by: